VSSUT soaring in the arena of India Innovation Growth Program 2.0

The Idea and Innovation Cell of VSSUT has given us yet another reason to be proud of, as they continue to impress everybody through their achievement of accolade at various events conducted nationally and internationally.

Recently, four students from the I&I Cell were awarded as the winner of ‘India Innovation Growth Program 2.0’, which was organized by Department of Science and Technology, Government of India, Lockheed Martin and Tata Trusts. The team members Anshuman Pattnaik, Bibhudutta Panda, Soumyajeet Mahapatra, and Prasant Kumar Sahoo, were awarded a sum of 10,00,000 INR for their project, ’Partial Artificial Reflective Surface for Digital Automation’ (PARDA).

The whole idea of the project was to create an interactive display that could be converted to a transparent glass surface. At the same time, it aimed to be an added advantage for an average middle-class person, since it was economically feasible and they could utilize the power in a more sustainable way. Plus, the display was made readable in sunlight. This enabled the overlay of multimedia data including augmented reality applications on the real-time visual environment.

The award ceremony was carried on at Taj Palace, New Delhi on 17th July 2019. The program was addressed by Prof. Asutosh Sharma, Secretary of Department of Science and Technology. Dr. Mark Hewitt, Vice President of International Strategy, Lockheed Martin International addressed the crowd soon after. The event was also graced by the presence of a number of eminent business leaders and innovators, which included people like Mr.Manoj Kumar, Head Innovations & Entrepreneurship, Tata Trusts; Mr. Sandip Somany, President, Federation of Indian Chambers of Commerce & Industry (FICCI); Mr.Amitabh Kant, CEO, Niti Ayog; Dr. Vivek Lall, Vice President of Strategy & Business Development, Lockheed Martin; Mr. Kamesh Gupta, Senior Vice President, Strategic Collaborations & Programs, Group Technology and Innovation Office, Tata Sons; Mr.Anand Subhadarshan, Chairperson, FICCI, Start-up Committee & Founder, Sylvant Advisors. Last but not the least, a vote of thanks was presented by Dr. Rajiv Tayal, Executive Director, Indo-Us Science & Technology Forum (IUSSTF).

Furthermore, the team will be designing a prototype fit for the market over a period of one year, in direct collaboration with IIT, Bombay. They will be participating at a bootcamp to be held at IIM, Ahmedabad where they are likely to give competition to fully commercialized companies.

Adding the cherry on the cake, the team went on to express gratitude to the Honorable Vice-Chancellor, Professor Atal Chaudhury; Dean Students’ Welfare, Dr. Sudhansu Sekhar Dash, Vice President of the Technical Society, Dr. Harish Kumar Sahoo and, Dr. Debadutta Mishra, mentor & the head of innovation center for their unending support for the participants, throughout the competition.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back To Top
Close Bitnami banner